category: culture

another Proust style questionnaire

About a year ago, I found a modern-style Proust questionnaire and filled it out. You may find my answers here.

This week, a friend sent me another questionnaire online (found on this site) so I filled it out. Would love to know your own answers!

Favorite play:ย A Man for All Seasons

What was your first love?:ย Medieval history โ€“ I was really into in (circa age 14), thus before I even had my first boyfriend so Iโ€™m going to go with thatโ€ฆ

Favorite language:ย German โ€“ yes, I know, Iโ€™m in the minority on this but I absolutely adore the sound and structure of it. P.S. I hate French.

Who is your most loved character in literature? Too broad a question so Iโ€™ll confine it to American literature, in which case, Holden Caulfield. His personality reminds me of my own.

Favorite room? The basement of the chapel in the Tower of London. Also, the ‘children’s room’ of my local public library when I was a kid. It’s still around though quite different, which is yet another reminder of how much remodeling buildingsย is overrated.

Favorite place to read a book? a coffee shop (preferably not a Starbucks)

Favorite place in NY? The Frick and Corner Bistro

Favorite color? black

Favorite painter/painting? Oooh, tough one. Though I concede it’s terribly-obvious / pedestrian to say Rembrandt, that’s probably it — “The Night Watch”? I could stare at it for hours. The painting feels as though it’s about to come to life and pull you in.

Favorite thing to collect? Ouch. I just realizedย I donโ€™t collect anything

ย Favorite mystery? Lost Colony of Roanoke; Stonehenge; Bermuda Triangle; and all those weird symbols on the dollar bill

ย Favorite flower? lily of the valley

Favorite sea creature? Easy. Nessie (Lochness Monster)

Favorite smell? eucalyptus.; rain

ย If I gave you a medal right now, what would it be for? survival

Favorite texture? Probably those $20 jersey sheet-sets they sell at Target. Those rock.

Whatโ€™s the first thing you think of when I say red? tacky

Night or day?ย  Neither. Sunset

Favorite villain? Hmmmโ€ฆ so manyโ€ฆ I will have to get back to you on this.ย Probably the evil queens and such from childhood tales. I always found the ‘bad’ characters more interesting and even misunderstood.

Molly Ringwald or Ally Sheedy? Are you nuts?ย Molly Ringwald, FTW!

C.S. Lewis or Freud? This is even more shocking. CS Lewis!!! How can the two even be compared?

Tents or motels? love both!ย Tents = fun camping! Motels = funky decor, that unique scent of freezing cold, moldy AC units mixed with cigarette smoke, ice machinesโ€ฆ What’s not to love?

Favorite musical instrument? piano (only because I can play it โ€ฆ somewhat)

Thunder or lightning? Thunder! Hear the wrath of Thor! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Tea or coffee? Coffee. Tea is too high-brow for me. Plus, most of it tastes like plastic. Sorry, true.

Wine or beer? beer if daytime (p.s. hate white wine), red wine if evening. Favoriteย beer = Old Milwaukee

Lemon or lime? Eh, is there much of a difference? Lime, I suppose

Monday or Friday? Monday. Fridays are bad luck

February or December? February

Christmas or Halloween? Christmas

Rosemaryโ€™s Baby or Hannah and Her Sisters? What?

J.D. Salinger or Jack Kerouac? Salinger

Hats or scarves? Hatsโ€ฆ wait, scarvesโ€ฆ Love both

Julie Christie or Vanessa Redgrave? Who?

Marilyn Monroe or Elizabeth Taylor? Elizabeth Taylor. Because she looks a lot like my mom AND bc Monroe was, let’s face it, a bit overt with her sexuality and thus a bit of a turn-off

Cary Grant or Jimmy Stewart? Cary Grant, I guess

Las Vegas or Atlantic City? Vegas. No comparison. I’ve only been to Vegas once, for about 36 hours, but I spent a fun weekend at Borgata in Atlantic City (with great company) and still thought the place was awful. And they don’t sell gum – or underwear – at the resort’s stores. What’s up with that?

Rain or sun? Rain (and snow, too)

Spiderman or Superman? Superman. Spiderman is far too boy’ish

Cats or dogs? Cats?! The guardians of the underworld? DOGS ALL DAY EVERYDAY!

Ice cream or sorbet? Ice cream

Beatles or Rolling Stones? Neither โ€“ both overrated

Favorite fun fair ride of all time? Hmmm, tough call. The mechanical swings, probably, especially if a good rock track came on while it was your turn. At Disney, it would have to be the Haunted Mansion.

If you could fly, where is the first place you would go? London

Favorite season? Fall

Favorite currency? The pound, because it means Iโ€™m in London

Favorite city? See above โ€“ London (this is getting repetitive)

Favorite imaginary place? Narnia

Favorite planet? Pluto, because the scientific community did him wrong

Favorite childrenโ€™s book? The Lion, The Witch, and the Wardrobe

Favorite candy? Reeseโ€™s Peanut Butter Cups

Favorite name [and it cannot be your own]? Malificentย 

Standard

Leave a reply!

