(uncategorized)

my answers to the ‘modern Proust questionnaire’

(found in AnOther magazine)

What are you thinking of right now?
 Why I’m bothering to do this when it’s sunny outside

What makes you laugh?
 my dogs

What makes you cry?
 animal cruelty

What do you consider to be the greatest invention?
 Impossible to single out one (the telephone, photography, the wheel). I would hope no fool answers: “The Internet!!!” As I can remember life without it, I can safely say ‘yes, it’s nice’ (information-age ‘n all that…) but also ‘we would’ve been fine (rather, better off) without it.’

Do you have a mentor or inspirational figure that has guided or influenced you?
 Yes, my late grandfather and my parents.… and Thomas More

Where do you feel most at home?
 At home, on my desk, writing

Where are you right now? At home, on my desk, writing

What is your proudest achievement in work?
 Keep ya posted.

What is your proudest achievement in life?
 Survival

What do you most dislike about contemporary culture?
 Its materialism and lack of values (though I suppose that’s always been around and not unique to the contemporary era)

What do you most like about the age we live in?
 I’m gonna go with Amazon.com

At what points do life and work intersect?
 When do they not? Work influences life and life influences work

What’s the best advice you’ve been given?
 Received heaps of great advice. Whether I heeded to it is another story

What is the biggest risk you’ve ever taken?
 Too many to choose just one. Fortune favors the bold. I regret the risks I haven’t taken far more than the ones I did. Although not the sensible choice, a roller-coaster life is far more interesting than one with security blankets.

Recommend a book or poem that has changed your perspective on life?
 Anything and everything by CS Lewis. A book that I don’t recommend, however, that did change my perspective on life, is Herman Hesse’s “Siddhartha” (forced on us by my AP English teacher). It’ll mess with your mind forever – stay away.

What is your earliest childhood memory?
 A very bad accident I was in; a pop-up “Sleeping Beauty” book; watching “The Flintstones” on TV when I couldn’t understand English but laughing anyway

What’s the most important relationship in your life?
 My mom, who’s an inspiration

What’s the most romantic action you’ve taken?
 Too personal, NEXT

What’s the most spiritual action you’ve taken?
 Too personal, NEXT

If you could wish for one change in the world what would it be?
 [When did we segue into beauty-pageant questions? BTW, although it’s pronounced “segway”, that’s how it’s spelled. There, at least we both learned something from this.]

Why won’t you admit it?
 [Deep. Nice try. NEXT]

What is your favourite food?
 Cuban food from Versailles Café or Sergio’s. Ropa vieja would probably be my last meal.

If you had a word tattooed on the underside of your top lip, what would it be?
 Adelante. (BTW, I think it would go on the bottom lip – why the top?)

Who the fuck invented this exhausting questionnaire?
 Someone with a lot of time on his or hands, made only worse by those with even more time to fill it out.

The afterlife — what do you reckon? True or false? True, without a doubt

What is your unrealised project? What is your dream?
 To make a positive difference on a large scale…. or make a big difference on a small scale. If I could go back a few years, I would’ve become a social worker.

If you could add one question to this project questionnaire, what would it be?
 “Are you actually going to do something productive with your day after this?”

Standard

Leave a reply!

